Plan Your Own Enterprise (PYOE) Competition



We are pleased to announce the Business Educators Australasia’s Plan Your Own Enterprise (PYOE) Competition is running again in 2024.

In up to 3,500 words (plus up to five single sided A4 pages of appendices) students should present a creative idea for a small business as a business plan. In their plan, students must include the business name, prime function, location, legal structure, staffing requirements, marketing plan, pricing, a financial plan and future prospects. Please view the brochure for more information and details on how to enter.

The competition promotes a range of skills including organisation and planning, innovation, decision making, research and communication, prioritising and collaborating, reflection and action. We encourage you to introduce the Competition as part of your teaching repertoire.

Students can enter one of two divisions within the competition:

  • Individual Entries – Open to individual students of any age, attending a registered secondary school in Australia.
  • Group Entries – Groups of up to six students can submit an entry. They can be of any age and must attend a registered secondary school in Australia.

NSW entries are due by Friday September 13, 2024.

All submissions are required to have the entry form on the front page, followed by the business plan itself. These need to be posted to: Nick Ward, Economics and Business Educators NSW (EBE NSW), PO Box 699, LIDCOMBE NSW 1825.

There is no cost to enter the competition.

Judging will be based on the paper entry and will be conducted in October. Winners will be advised early November.

This competition can be incorporated into assessment tasks for both Commerce and/or Business Studies.


Previous Winners

Division 2 – Lemon Myrtle, Vanshika Virmani & Jennifer Xu, Hornsby Girls High School, Teacher: Ms. Stephanie Boden
Division 1 – Intergenerational Solutions, Joshua Spicer, Rose Bay Secondary College, Teacher: Mr. Philip Horrell

Division 2 – ZIPCharge, Ashna Kapoor, Anna Michael, Ashley Oliver-Sjahry, MLC School, Teacher: Ms McCulloch
Division 1 – Waffles on Wheels, Sarah Matthias, Loreto Normanhurst, Teacher: Mr. Kohlhagen

Division 2 – ParCar, Liam Heng, William Kuang, David Tsai, and Leo Wang, Sydney Boys High School, Teacher: Mr. Dolan
Division 1 – The Japantry, Lucy Beer, Loreto Normanhurst, Teacher: Mr Tassone

Division 2 -Tempo, Alicia Amann & Georgia Graham, Abbotsleigh School, Teacher: Ms Laing Peach
Division 1 – AspergerAssist, Julian Annison, Inaburra School, Teacher: Mr Low

Division 2 – ADN Tech, Ishwary Ramjeevan, Maddisen Strauss & Mariam Yassin, MLC School, Teacher: Mr. Wijanto
Division 1 – The Fruit Circus, Parivash Nadeem, Unity Grammar, Ms. Khair

Division 2 – Spuds Galore, Bailey Bathgate, Jacob Butcher, Aiden Langford & Seth Turnbull, Clarence Valley Anglican School, Teacher: Michael Parry
Division 1 – Bush Tucker Kitchen, Armaan Suman, Normanhurst Boys High School, Teacher: Flora Rahman

Division 2 – Vuhoo, Patrick Chen, Wilson Sun, Justin Vu, Tony Wang, Sydney Boys High School, Teacher: Mrs Jackson
Division 1 – Track-It, Caithlyn Kusuma, Roseville College, Teacher: Mrs Krissy Cawthorne

Division 2 – Watch Out, Ashiqca Manandhar &  Jessica Sherry, Tara Anglican School For Girls, Teacher: Mark Swaison & Melissa Losco
Division 1 – Chronically Bear, Charlotte Wilks, All Saints College Maitland, Teacher: Tania Buffier